The Product Marketing Career Path

It looks more like a climbing wall than a ladder.

Unlike many other careers, Product Marketing doesn’t necessarily have a clear trajectory.

In order to better understand what I mean, here’s a little background about how I became a Director of Product Marketing.

  1. Went to university for Technical Writing

  2. First job out of college was in Public Relations

  3. Next job was in video game marketing

  4. Bounced around marketing generalist jobs for a few years

  5. Found Product Marketing as a discipline 5 years ago

  6. Earned a Product Marketing certification

  7. For the next 5 years, I focused on my PMM career

  8. I was promoted from Product Marketing Manager, to Senior Product Marketing Manager, to Director of Product Marketing

Do you see the shift? Once I found Product Marketing as a role and truly focused on it, I was able to concentrate on and develop my skillset.

So what’s my advice to folks seeking to enter into Product Marketing or to advance your career?

“Your resume is an artifact. Your career is your narrative.”

Learn more about my career trajectory in this episode of the Women in Leadership podcast.

Join the conversation

or to participate.